Complaints department

Page 2 of 10 Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Re: Complaints department

Post  Admin on Thu Feb 09, 2012 12:30 am

Just sorted the signatures for everyone. Ryan, if the problem still happens let me know and I will look into it more.

Again sorry for the problems everyone, we will get there shortly Smile

Admin
Admin

Posts : 350
Join date : 2012-02-06
Age : 33

http://www.diecastrallymodels.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Complaints department

Post  Dr Tumbo on Thu Feb 09, 2012 7:32 am

I have a complaint - this is a successful reincarnation of our old hunting group - how DARE you allow us to enjoy ourselves like this cheers
avatar
Dr Tumbo

Posts : 335
Join date : 2012-02-07
Age : 33

Back to top Go down

Re: Complaints department

Post  Cowley on Thu Feb 09, 2012 1:39 pm

Ryan_C wrote:Some old members saying on facebook that when they try to register it says their name is already used. Happened to me, said Ryan was already taken.
Anyone able to shed any light on this?
I said the same thing to Peter, but many thanks for highlighting the issues I had registering last night Ryan - very much appreciated, and to you Nicky for sorting it out so promptly.

Seeing as we're all old friends, I didn't see any point registering under anything but my former username - like to preserve continuity if possible. Rolling Eyes
avatar
Cowley

Posts : 3808
Join date : 2012-02-08
Location : Derbyshire

https://www.facebook.com/pages/CODE343/414306915273338

Back to top Go down

Re: Complaints department

Post  Admin on Thu Feb 09, 2012 8:17 pm

Glad to have got everything sorted now, I just want everyone to enjoy themselves on here

I have sorted the advert banners at the top too, cost a fiver for 6 months which is a small price to pay i think Smile

Admin
Admin

Posts : 350
Join date : 2012-02-06
Age : 33

http://www.diecastrallymodels.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Complaints department

Post  Ryan_C on Thu Feb 09, 2012 8:41 pm

Good job nicky!
avatar
Ryan_C

Posts : 345
Join date : 2012-02-08
Age : 28
Location : Castlederg

Back to top Go down

Re: Complaints department

Post  Cowley on Thu Feb 09, 2012 8:42 pm

6r4nicky wrote:Glad to have got everything sorted now, I just want everyone to enjoy themselves on here

I have sorted the advert banners at the top too, cost a fiver for 6 months which is a small price to pay i think Smile
Nice one Nicky, but please don't get yourself out of pocket with all this. I'm sure if you are open with any expenditure that you incur, then I'm sure the guys would be well up for offering some financial support as they did on the old forum for Pat - even during the last few seconds before the light went out.
avatar
Cowley

Posts : 3808
Join date : 2012-02-08
Location : Derbyshire

https://www.facebook.com/pages/CODE343/414306915273338

Back to top Go down

Re: Complaints department

Post  Ryan_C on Thu Feb 09, 2012 8:51 pm

Not a complaint this, more of a suggestion:
Maybe separate the for sale/wanted section in two different sections? Just so it doesn't get messy once a lot of threads get started.
avatar
Ryan_C

Posts : 345
Join date : 2012-02-08
Age : 28
Location : Castlederg

Back to top Go down

Re: Complaints department

Post  Admin on Thu Feb 09, 2012 9:20 pm

David, I dont mind paying for the ad removal but if people want to donate after the current 6 months for a further 6 months ad free than I am more than I am more than happy to accept! Smile I still havent managed to look at how much it will cost for using data allowance so people that dont upload through image hosting sites manage to upload straight from their hard drives. The only thing that worries me with that is, will everyone then start to use it instead of using image hosting sites? I really wouldnt want it to be the main use for image uploading if that makes sense? I hope people understand my thinking (I cant at times lol) lol!

Ryan, thankyou for the suggestion. I have just sorted that along with a gallery section so everyone can upload pics from motorsport events or shows Smile

Admin
Admin

Posts : 350
Join date : 2012-02-06
Age : 33

http://www.diecastrallymodels.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Complaints department

Post  Cowley on Thu Feb 09, 2012 9:56 pm

All I'm saying Nicky is don't make a rod for your own back with the finances. If there is a cost incurred along the way, I'm sure you could get it covered without having to dip in your own pocket. Just looking after your wallet for you mate, as I know how expensive forums, websites, hosting etc can get - I'm not saying you don't know mind you! Rolling Eyes

I'm quite happy to use an external site to host my images, as I'm sure are most other members. I reckon it's best to let members get used to the new style, format, software, buttons, etc for a few days or weeks, and then maybe run a pole to find out if there are any necessary major improvements required. The little glitches that people raise can be tweaked along the way I'm sure - just like you have been doing over the last couple of days.
avatar
Cowley

Posts : 3808
Join date : 2012-02-08
Location : Derbyshire

https://www.facebook.com/pages/CODE343/414306915273338

Back to top Go down

Re: Complaints department

Post  Ryan_C on Thu Feb 09, 2012 10:07 pm

^What DC said
avatar
Ryan_C

Posts : 345
Join date : 2012-02-08
Age : 28
Location : Castlederg

Back to top Go down

Re: Complaints department

Post  Cowley on Thu Feb 09, 2012 10:07 pm

Cheers R_C! Rolling Eyes
avatar
Cowley

Posts : 3808
Join date : 2012-02-08
Location : Derbyshire

https://www.facebook.com/pages/CODE343/414306915273338

Back to top Go down

Re: Complaints department

Post  Speedy on Thu Feb 09, 2012 10:12 pm

What DC & R_C said
avatar
Speedy

Posts : 986
Join date : 2012-02-06
Age : 42
Location : Carlow, S.Ireland

http://www.peespeed.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Complaints department

Post  Admin on Thu Feb 09, 2012 11:12 pm

Cheers for the comments guys, I appreciate the input. Especially when it comes to the finance's side of it. I will talk to members about costs when they are potentially needed in the future.

I do like the idea like you say David, of leaving it as it is for a few weeks, or a couple of months and then put a poll up on what major improvements may be required. Even though I run my 6r4.net forum, this is on a much much bigger scale. 6r4.net had very few posts on it and didnt have many active members or members in general.


Admin
Admin

Posts : 350
Join date : 2012-02-06
Age : 33

http://www.diecastrallymodels.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Complaints department

Post  Zeus on Thu Feb 09, 2012 11:14 pm

Nicky, please can we have a new arrivals sub forum?? I like posting quick pics then better ones when i get a chance. No bother if you dont just fussiness on my part probably.
avatar
Zeus

Posts : 2218
Join date : 2012-02-06
Age : 34
Location : Wales

Back to top Go down

Re: Complaints department

Post  Admin on Thu Feb 09, 2012 11:17 pm

Zeus wrote:Nicky, please can we have a new arrivals sub forum?? I like posting quick pics then better ones when i get a chance. No bother if you dont just fussiness on my part probably.

Yeah sure. To be honest I have been trying to remember most of the sections on Pats forum that were used on a regular basis so will add a new arrivals sub forum in a minute Smile

Admin
Admin

Posts : 350
Join date : 2012-02-06
Age : 33

http://www.diecastrallymodels.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Complaints department

Post  JOB on Fri Feb 10, 2012 7:19 am

Probably nothing you can do about it Nicky but whenever I google rallymodelforum or rallymodelforum.forumotion I get crap. The only way I can get in is through Peters link on Facebook. I was never much good on computers but anyone got the "dummies guide to accessing the forum" please. confused
P.S. For all the model builders on here I made a note of all the promises I got of models to be done before the old forum went down Laughing

JOB

Posts : 1135
Join date : 2012-02-09

Back to top Go down

Re: Complaints department

Post  Cowley on Fri Feb 10, 2012 7:52 am

Nicky mate, thanks for adding the New Arrivals section so promptly but there's a slight problem - it and it's contents can be viewed by non members, ie you don't have to be logged in to view it. Rolling Eyes

It's more than likely a small setting in Permissions if I remember my phpBB software experience at all. I'm pretty sure you didn't intend it to be set up like that, so I'm just giving you a heads up mate.

Cheers fella! Rolling Eyes
avatar
Cowley

Posts : 3808
Join date : 2012-02-08
Location : Derbyshire

https://www.facebook.com/pages/CODE343/414306915273338

Back to top Go down

Re: Complaints department

Post  Cowley on Fri Feb 10, 2012 8:08 am

James, I'm by no means an expert like Pat or Brian but I'm pretty sure it's called Search Engine Optimisation - what a geek! Rolling Eyes

It's basically a phrase or a series of words within the forum settings that are found by Google, Yahoo, etc when someone searches for Rally Model Forum.

Nicky should be able to place these certain words within the coding so that it is found when a search is made. The forum will then starts moving towards the top of the results, ie No 1 at the very top, the more and more people search for it over time, and then click on the link to this forum.

Not sure I'm totally correct on all this, but I think that's how it works. Please shoot me down anyone if I'm talking total gonads! Rolling Eyes
avatar
Cowley

Posts : 3808
Join date : 2012-02-08
Location : Derbyshire

https://www.facebook.com/pages/CODE343/414306915273338

Back to top Go down

Re: Complaints department

Post  Admin on Fri Feb 10, 2012 9:38 am

David, thanks very much for letting me know about the arrivals forum. I have just changed it to members only like the rest of the forum.

Admin
Admin

Posts : 350
Join date : 2012-02-06
Age : 33

http://www.diecastrallymodels.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Complaints department

Post  Cowley on Fri Feb 10, 2012 10:36 am

No worries Nicky - I just happened to have a look at the forum last night from my mobile, and noticed that I could view that new section without logging in mate.

Another thought I had - whilst making the 45 minute walk to work in the hazardous, treacherous and dangerous 5mm of snow that we had last night! affraid - was to possibly ask Pat if he'd give his permission for the old www.rallymodelforum.com url to point to your new forum Nicky. That way when anyone ever searches for it, or uses an old bookmark, then they should get re-directed straight to this forum without any trouble. It should be possible... Rolling Eyes

Just a thought mate, and as everything, it can all get sorted within time. Wink I'm just so glad we now have somewhere to meet up. bounce
avatar
Cowley

Posts : 3808
Join date : 2012-02-08
Location : Derbyshire

https://www.facebook.com/pages/CODE343/414306915273338

Back to top Go down

Re: Complaints department

Post  Boyley on Fri Feb 10, 2012 3:13 pm

Nicky,

Is there any way of having the latest post heading as a link on the right hand side as it used to be, so that you can see what's been commented on?

Cheers

Phil
avatar
Boyley

Posts : 77
Join date : 2012-02-09
Age : 46
Location : Chorley

Back to top Go down

Re: Complaints department

Post  newt5550 on Sun Feb 12, 2012 10:25 am

Uploaded photo's to flickr but i still can't get them to come up on here.
Don't know what i'm doing wrong. I need an idiot guide please.
avatar
newt5550

Posts : 6048
Join date : 2012-02-07
Age : 48
Location : Boston

Back to top Go down

Re: Complaints department

Post  bmd on Sun Feb 12, 2012 10:34 am

chris, dont kmow if this helps but when uploading my avatar i previously used the bottom link in photobucket (the img.....img) but on this site i had to use the entire url, which i think was the 2nd link down under the pic in photobucket...there are only 4 possible links, try a pic on each one m8, one of them's bound to work lol!!
avatar
bmd

Posts : 5591
Join date : 2012-02-12
Age : 50
Location : Ballymena Northern Ireland

Back to top Go down

Re: Complaints department

Post  Cowley on Sun Feb 12, 2012 10:46 am

Yeah what Billy said Chris - law of averages is that one of them will work. I'm surprised the [img ] through to .jpg[/img ] doesn't work though as that is fairly universal across forums.

An alternative would be to find another member's photo in a post, click the 'Quote' button, and then try and work out which link they have used depending on how it starts and ends.

Have a look at one of Zeus' posts with photos as I know he uses Flickr.

Good luck fella! Wink
avatar
Cowley

Posts : 3808
Join date : 2012-02-08
Location : Derbyshire

https://www.facebook.com/pages/CODE343/414306915273338

Back to top Go down

Re: Complaints department

Post  Cowley on Sun Feb 12, 2012 11:41 am

newt5550 wrote:Uploaded photo's to flickr but i still can't get them to come up on here.
Don't know what i'm doing wrong. I need an idiot guide please.
Chris, I've had a look at some of my own photos on Flickr, and I'm hoping that the following works! Rolling Eyes

Above the photo you should have a 'Share' button. Click that and then click 'Grab the HTML / BB code' button. You will see a long code, and if you copy and paste that into your post on here, you should get an image...


2008 Rally Show @ Chatsworth by www.mgs2000.co.uk, on Flickr

...phew, I'm glad that worked! Rolling Eyes

Below the image abov you will also then see the caption, name of the individual who posted it on Flickr, and that it also came from that particular photo hosting website. However, if you would like to clean up all of that and delete it so that you only have the image by itself, you need to remove the coding at the start and at the end so that you are just left with the coding between the [img and /img] brackets. This version of the coding will then give you the result below - identical in appearance to the photo above, but it is simply not clickable back to the Flickr page, and there's not all that waffle at the base.



I hope that helps mate, but if you need anything else just SHOUT! Wink
avatar
Cowley

Posts : 3808
Join date : 2012-02-08
Location : Derbyshire

https://www.facebook.com/pages/CODE343/414306915273338

Back to top Go down

Re: Complaints department

Post  Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Page 2 of 10 Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum